The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

The Gratitude Journal

Leave a comment

blog mf

I had a mildly sucky day today.  You know – first world problems.  I woke up to the dreaded smoothie.  I got stuck in transit for two hours.  It was freezing cold on my walk to the subway station going to work.  I had one of those days at the office where I was so busy, I felt like I just couldn’t get ahead and everything was a challenge.  Hell’s Kitchen premiered tonight and instead of being soothed by Chef Ramsey’s gentle voice, I just found the whole episode loud. 

Then, I read an article in “Dr. Oz – The Good Life”, my Whiz-ard’s new magazine.  It was the last page and it was Dr. Oz’s RX for Optimism.  I read that article like it was my last hope for an optimism break.  There were so many great little nuggets, and it was such a nice complement to his “Six Path’s to Happiness” in “You Being Beautiful” that I may have to make this another two entry blog.  He mentioned in both the book and the article, albeit briefly, that it is important to try to keep a gratitude journal.  I have this blog, so what better way to end each entry than with something that I am grateful for.  In fact, let me turn my day around and look at what was troubling me:

-I had to drink my smoothie this morning, and even though I dislike it, at least I can have breakfast.  There are people around the world who are starving

-There was a major subway delay today, but at least I live in an accessible city

-Work was challenging today, but at least, in these trying times, I am employed

-Hell’s Kitchen gave me a headache, but at least I can afford a TV

BLECH!!! I’m making myself sick with this lemons to lemon water garbage.  I can’t have lemonade, nor do I like it, so just going with the lemon water.

Here is what I am truly grateful for today – I was watching this week’s episode of Modern Family, and Mitchell, Cam, Alex and Mannie were going to an art museum.  They are the smart, cultured members of the family.  As they were sauntering around the museum, one by one in their own way, they admitted that it was a little pretentious (except Alex) and as they did their ITMs (in the moment interviews), they each felt a little dumb when one of the group left because it was all too intellectual for them.  This reminded me of the times I’ve been to MOMA in New York City.  I love MOMA, but some of the installations border on the ridiculous.  One time I went with a friend, and we went to the top floor.  The exhibit was a bunch of video screens that showed people sleeping in black and white.  You have read correctly!  Black and white video of people sleeping.  Of course there were people there taking notes and seriously looking at it thinking about what an ironic statement of how people are so driven by technology that they even video themselves in repose.  Others were nodding at the screens thinking what a unique way of showing that we are a society driven so hard that our only peace is in shut eye.  Do you know what I said?  I didn’t use my inside voice either – “OH PLEASE – ARE YOU SERIOUS?”  Yup.  Outloud in MOMA.  Everyone, except for my friend looked at me in disgust, however, I know that deep, deep down that they agreed with me.

So today, I am grateful that one of my favourite shows did their own take about what I find so amusing about modern art.

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

