The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 2…

Leave a comment

It’s day 2 of my trial by fire, I mean, Dr. Oz’s 2 Week Rapid Weight Loss Program.  I was finally able to get into life with Depends – I mean things evened out and I was able to think of something aside peeing for a day.  Today was manageable.  I tried the hot water and lemon thing again – sorry, can’t do it – it tastes like drinking dishsoap to me.  I’ll be going with room temperature for the rest of the two weeks.  I love water and lemon so I didn’t think it would be such an issue.  On a brighter note, my bananas were smoothie worthy and it ended up tasting a bit better.  Blending it longer worked at getting rid of most of the grittiness too.  It still took me half an hour to down that sucker, but I did it.  I just keep telling myself it’s only twelve more days.

Let me review the lemons and lemonade (in honour of the water that I love to hate):

lemon – the hot water and lemon : )

lemonade – the less gritty smoothie

lemon – I forget to take the probiotic in the morning for the second straight day PLUS my zinc and Vitamin D

lemonade – I remembered my iron and Vitamin B

lemon – green tea – I’ll get used to it

lemonade – the detox vegetable broth is surprisingly good – it has a nice gingery flavour.  I’m so glad that I’m such an amazing cook.  I even thought to strain the vegetables through since you are allowed them on this diet.   Brilliant! 

I CAN’T LIE!!!!  My mother cooked the soup (gallons of it) which is why it likely tastes so good.  Lets just say straining the vegetables through was a collaboration of sorts.  Thank you for the soup Mummy – especially since I know you think I’m crazy for doing this.  Judgey readers, I did heat it up myself though – doesn’t that count?  I carried it home on the subway too – and she’s getting all the glory!  Maybe I did her a favour – maybe she needed something to do that day?  I’ll stop joking – I am truly grateful and she even went out in the cold of winter to do this for me.  I also have to thank my sister for teaching me how to use a blender.  I am a bit pathetic in the kitchen – but the first step is admitting that you have a problem.

At the end of day two, I have to give Dr. Oz credit – I do feel better.  I’m not as uncomfortable after I eat.  I don’t think it’s sustainable long term, but definitely a good to try for me.  If you do decide to try this (after speaking to a health care professional, of course), make sure that you like vegetables (which I do) because it will be unbearable if you don’t.  You do have to drink a lot of water too – you’re having tons of fibre.  Hummus is your friend – it’s great to dip veggies in or to use to replace salad dressing.  You can still have olive oil and balsamic, but if you want to switch it up, it’s a good option. 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

