The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Waterworks!

Leave a comment

Image

After Day 1 of Dr. Oz’s 2 Week Rapid Weight Loss Program, I can definitely say that I feel lighter – not because I’ve lost massive amounts of weight, but because I can’t stop peeing!   I’m about to go out and buy Depends – it’s all I can think about and it’s been my go to answer for every question today – “How are you feeling?” Me –  “Depends”, “I really need your opinion on this”, Me –  “Depends”, “When do you think you can have an answer for me?”, Me “Depends *sigh*”.  Maybe it’s because I’ve had the following to drink:

-Hot Water and Lemon

-Tea (2 cups)

-The Smoothie – not so smooth though but more on that later

-6 glasses of water

-A coffee

Just keeping things real, I’ll have to drink lukewarm water and lemon – the hot water and lemon was awful for me.  If you like it, more power to you, but I did some research and drinking it at room temperature which is how I drink my water anyway is just fine.  Since I am confessing, I’ll also cop to having the forbidden black tea (albeit with Almond Milk) and Coffee (sorry 2 milks and 2 sweeteners).   I believe in keeping to this plan as much as possible, but I also have to do it in a way that is liveable for me.  I have 4-5 cups of coffee a week and according to “You Being Beautiful”, other than bananas, coffee is the next most important source of antioxidants. 

Back to the smoothies – I hate smoothies, juice, and any other type of drinkable meals.  This smoothie wasn’t awful if you are like me and not a huge fan of a blended beverage.  A couple of issues though – I skipped the banana today only because they were bright green!   I’ll put it in tomorrow for sure no matter how unripened it may be.  You should also blend the smoothie a little more than you think you have to, the protein powder and flax seeds didn’t blend all that well so that beverage was a little bit gritty.  Easily fixable and this has given me a great excuse to use a blender…for the first time.  As for the rest of the day, it wasn’t so bad…I had the Greek yogurt with walnuts for my morning snack…a chicken salad for lunch (I’m using hummus as salad dressing which was fantastic – it tastes better on a salad than most dressings and has a nice creamy texture), almonds for a snack and brown rice, beans mixed into a salad (with olive oil and balsamic vinegar) for dinner.  All very liveable. 

One last tip if you are going to do this program – get some of it ready the night before.  There is quite a bit of prep involved and I ended up forgetting a few things.  I’m going to post the printable plan summary on my fridge so that I am more organized tomorrow.

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

