The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

New Month – New Diet (s)

3 Comments

Image

March is a brand new month and with that comes a topic change – diet!  Most people have New Year’s Resolutions that start off with the best intentions, and then they fall by the wayside.  I’m a smuggly – I usually make achievable resolutions – for example, the last two years, rather than make an all-encompassing goal like lose weight, I made a pact with myself to change three bad habits a year.  In 2012, for example, I stopped drinking my beloved Diet Coke – I still miss it to this day, like an old friend, there was something comfortable about the way the can felt in my hand, soemthing soothing about the sound it made when I opened it…I’ll stop now…Last year, one of my goals was simply to have work/life balance.  I was working far too many hours, and I had to learn to put a stop to it.  It’s not to say that I don’t still work hard, but now I leave between six and seven instead of nine or ten.  It’s just not healthy and I needed to learn to enjoy my life.  Sometimes things happen that make you see how you have to make living a priority – the old work to live not live to work.  This year, it was a more general goal – make my health my biggest priority and that’s why it’s a year of living the Dr. Oz way.

I selected March as the kick off point to trying different things with my diet for several reasons.  People are inundated with diet messages in January – how many “New Year, New You” articles can you read?  I also believe that after reading a lot that there is no one solution that will work for everyone, so you (along with your health care professional) need to work on what is the best plan for you and keep any health care concerns in mind.  I have two myself – one is low iron – very easy to fix and the other is that I’m pre-diabetic, so it’s something that I need to work on.  I’ve also been feeling a bit more low energy than I used to, and feel disgustingly, uncomfortably full after I eat certain foods and am hoping that what I learn this month will help.  Make no mistake, like everything that I’ve learned to date, I’ll be continuing to incorporate what I’ve learned long after this month ends.

To that end, there will be two Oz recommended diets that I’ll be trying – one is Dr. Oz’s 2-Week Rapid Weight Loss http://www.doctoroz.com/slideshow/dr-ozs-2-week-rapid-weight-loss-plan-instructions?gallery=true – not because I want to lose weight quickly, but because it’s also a mini-detox and I am curious to see if I feel better on it.  It also is really easy to follow.  The other, also featured on The Dr. Oz Show is the DASH Diet – Dietary  Approaches to Stop Hypertension.  I don’t have hypertension – yet – but it does run in my family and this seems like a sensible, easy to follow plan that’s also liveable.  I’ll also be using some tips from “You Being Beautiful” and filling in with interesting ideas from “The Good Life” – Dr. Oz’s new magazine with a couple of surprises thrown in so that you don’t get bored of me writing about how my smoothies taste. 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

3 thoughts on “New Month – New Diet (s)

  1. Good luck with the 2 week diet plan! Can’t wait to hear how it goes at the end – you know I always love learning trying new healthy eating recipes/plans 🙂

    Like

  2. You have inspired me Jilly….wish me luck on these next 2 weeks. You…I have faith YOU can keep us both on track 🙂

    Like

  3. T – we can totally do this! Kim – thanks – I’m really excited – I’ll print you a copy of the cheat sheet – it’s really easy to follow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

