The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

It’s Too Hard to Say Goodbye…

Leave a comment

…to “You Being Beautiful” so I’m not going to.  This isn’t a book as much as it is a guide, encyclopedia, text book and cornocopia of information and unlike most books that I have, I will be keeping it.  This month is ending very differently than how it began.  I believed that this would be a quest for perfect skin and better hair and it was.  It was also a chance for shallow little me to become reflective.  It made me think about things and write about topics that I wasn’t expecting.  In the expression curiosity killed the cat, I’m the cat.  I always need to know everything.  I’m the person who reads the last page of the book to find out “Whodunnit” or who reads “Reality Steve” to see who will get the final rose in “The Bachelor/Bachelorette” – don’t lie – I know you watch it too!  This book was different – reading ahead wouldn’t do me any good.  In fact, it would defeat the purpose since every chapter had something to think about whether it was a quiz or little nugget of advice.

Here is a small sample of the expected and unexpected topics that I wrote about:

  • Good oral health – so gratifying to know that I don’t have to go back and review this chapter.  My chompers are as good as they get – sorry – I have to brag about one thing and it’s nice to start and end on the same note
  • Exfoliating my skin – I’ve done this twice a week – just like the doctor ordered – I haven’t noticed a huge difference but I’ll be patient
  • Taking zinc for acne – not helping, but I bought it, so I’ll use the whole bottle
  • I stopped piling my hair on my head for my beloved shampoo mohawk and it does make a difference.  I save time in the morning since my hair isn’t tangled when I get out of the shower plus I have fewer split ends – who knew?
  • I stopped picking my cuticles and they are fresh and pink like they should be, but like any recovering addict, it’s one day at a time
  • Family and relationships – I wrote about my wonderful, lovely grandfather which isn’t something that I planned but that the book gave me permission to do
  • The importance of friendship in this stressful and sometimes difficult world – where would we be without them?
  • I caught the world’s shortest cold – I was in misery for a day and a half, and my mother cured me with homemade tomato soup – let’s say it together – who knew? 
  • The path to happiness – aside from writing about my Zaidy – this was by far my favourite thing to think about.  I think everyone including me needs to think about how being unselfish can bring you joy and how the smallest act of kindness can make a big difference in someone’s day

The most important thing that I learned this month is that it’s impossible to do or try everything in this book.  As I wrote previously, my big AHA moment was realizing that I didn’t need to be perfect, but more mindful of what I am doing.  I also realize that changes don’t happen overnight.  I’ve learned to be a better, if not perfect sleeper by continuing on with what I learned from Dr. Oz in January.  I’m going to have to keep up with the changes that I have been making this month and isn’t that the whole point?  To make lifestyle choices that may be small, but may make a big difference over time.  There is just so much in this book, that I’m going to have to keep referring to it throughout March even though there will be a topic change and the month after.  In fact, a chapter that I haven’t even covered yet is the inspiration for my April topic.

My total spend for the month was $49.48 – this covered flax seed, zinc + copper, and Vitamin B 50.  I still have to by a Vitamin C serum and retinol cream but in the words of the immortal Scarlett O’Hara “…after all, tomorrow is another day.”  I’ll get there.  I still haven’t gotten around to meditiation and yoga and Oz loves these two forms of torture – I mean higher mindfulness.  I’ll be trying them – promise!  He also recommends keeping a gratitude journal (he is an Oprah-phile after all).  I don’t know if I’ll write down everything, but I’ll think every day about what makes me grateful.  I can tell you, my readers, that I am truly grateful to you for making the piece about my grandfather my most read entry.  Getting to share just a few memories of this wonderful man and having you appreciate it is gratifying beyond words.  THANK YOU!

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

