The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

AHHHH-CHOOOOOOO

Leave a comment

That’s right, I have a cold!  I hate being sick.  As an adult, it’s just no fun – no one takes care of you because they don’t want to get sick themselves, even if you stay home from work, the expectation is that you do work (at least for some people), if you take transit, people look at you with disgust instead of sympathy and get up and move as soon as you start blowing your nose. 

What does this all have to do with beauty?  I don’t know about you, but I am an ugly sick person – red, watery eyes, red dried out nose and pale, sickly skin.  Fun times, I don’t feel cute when I’m sick – not in the least.  Even a good hair day doesn’t help.  “You Being Beautiful” doesn’t cover the common cold, so I turned to Dr. Oz’s website for advice.  Great tips – but some are challenging unless you are a Girl Scout (or my eldest sister) – always prepared.  Here are the best of his cold and flu rescue pack:

  • Determine if it’s a cold or the flu.  He has a simple trick – are the symptoms in your head or your whole body.  Easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy (that just reminded me – I need to buy some lemons) – they are all in my head.  Yup – I’m sick in the head – insert laugh track here.  I never have a problem figuring out what I have – I’ve had the flu before and it’s debilitating.  You just feel awful and there is nothing you can do about it.  Don’t get me wrong, colds are miserable – but you know you will live – with the flu, you wish you wouldn’t
  • The first product the good Dr. recommends is saline nasal spray – this is to flush mucus and bacteria out of your nose – fun!  According the the article on the website, purified water and sodium chloride nasal sprays are best.  Guess who has one??? C’mon, guess?  Whose a Girl Scout now?
  • I don’t have a fever so I’ll skip to the next tip which is…
  • …Black Current Lozenges which have gamma-linoleic acid, a fatty acid that soothes the throat and decreases inflammation.  I have mixed berry with Vitamin C – not the same, but let’s get real – I’m just happy to have something in the house.  These are still better than lozenges with menthol – can actually break down your body’s good mucus and damage the throat over time – who knew?  Lesson learned – I’ll pick up the black current lozenges do I’m prepared to wage war against the common cold virus.  I love that – G.I. Jill to the rescue!  Although if Dr. Oz was reading this would he think that G.I. stood for Gastro-Intestinal?  That just doesn’t have the same cool ring to it – Gastro-Intestinal Jill to the rescue – blech.  Next!
  • Sorry about the G.I. jokes, they are in very poor taste – it’s the fever.  Ooops – I already told you I didn’t have a fever – ARGH!
  • Seriously though, a DM or Expectorant Cough Syrup is next on the list.  You use a DM for a dry cough and an expectorant with a wet cough.  Right now, I have a slight cough, but nothing worth taking medicine for.  I do have DM cough syrup so my cold pack is looking good!
  • Buckwheat honey is the next item in your cold pack.  I don’t have this one – but it is high in iron, anti-oxidants and helps boost immunity.  I’ve also heard that honey is a natural anti-bacterial – so I’ll get some of this when I’m feeling up to it
  • Funny – Vitamin D3 (1000mg) is on the list, and  it’s supposed to boost immunity.  I’ve been taking it every day for the last week and still got sick…
  • He then suggests 1-2 cups of mushroom tea and no, it’s not that kind of mushrooms so stop laughing.  It’s the legal kind that you get from health food stores and it’s packed with immune boosting selenium.  Every since Mary Ann ate the poisoned mushrooms on Gilligan’s Island (IMDB – When the Professor, Skipper, and Gilligan all try to romance Mary Ann to console her after her boyfriend proposes to another girl, Mary Ann misunderstands and thinks she has caught the fatal “roomus igloomus” from eating poison mushrooms.) I haven’t wanted to eat them.  I’m going to take a pass and stick with black or green tea thank you.  I’m eating two brazil nuts every day to get all of the selenium that I need and I still got sick!

I’m going to go rest and try to finish “You Being Beautiful” – I’ll let you know if any of the “cures” help or not.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

