The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Dear Diary + 45 Weeks to Go!

Leave a comment

In honour of Super Fun Night’s season finale – yes, I am one of two people that I know that watch the show – I’m going to write in Kimmie Boubier’s style from the show and make this a “dear diary” type of entry.  You can have your drug induced “Breaking Bad’s” and your motorcycle Mama-ing “Sons of Anarchy”, your Debbie Downer of a show like “Mad Men” or your hipster loving “Girls”.  Ok I used to love “Girls” but seeing Lena Dunham constantly naked finally got to me.  You can judge me if you want, but it was too much of a not so good thing.  My top favourite show is “The Mindy Project” – I’m like the queen or more appropriately , the princess of the feel good, laugh out loud programs that show comedic promise only to languish in the ratings cellar.  What would Dr. Oz say about this?  He’d probably say that it’s good that I have hope.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that both shows will be back next year.

Now…back to business…

Dear Diary,

I only have 45 weeks left in my year long experiment to live the way that Dr. Oz suggests.  I’m starting to worry that pretty soon, without this to concentrate on, that my life will have no meaning.  Oh right, it’s week 45 not week 5 – never mind.  I will still have a meaningful life for a little while yet.  PHEW!  Dodged a bullet on that one.

This week, I learned a lot and spent a little.  Well, not a little but just over $18 for a bottle of Jamieson B50 Vitamins.  Those were really my only purchase. I tried really hard to remember to take them, not so successful, but I will get there.  Here are my booms and busts of the week:

Boom – Bought the B 50 Vitamins

Bust – only took them once

Boom – excited about my better night’s sleeps

Bust – didn’t sleep for one minute (truly) last night and am suffering for it now

Boom – Being really diligent about eating nuts

Bust – keep forgetting to grind my flax seed

Boom – drank 8 glasses of water a day

Bust – for the most part (totally on track today)

Boom – Stopped picking my cuticles

Bust – For one whole day.  I am taking it one day at a time, just like our mayor, Rob Ford – or is he?….Bad example

Boom – I’ve been taking Zinc supplements for my acne religiously

Bust – I have a pimple the size of my baby toe on my chin – I’m hoping that it just takes time to work

So you see Dear Diary, as Dr. Oz, and my favourite rapper, Deepak Chopra would say, oh right, he’s a spiritual man, not a Kanye disciple, in life, there is balance. 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

