The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

A Real Nail Biter

Leave a comment

I don’t bit my nails – never have.  It grosses me out, especially since I take public transit and who knows what’s living in the land under my nails so why shove them in my mouth? I do have a bad habit though – it’s kind of a dirty secret…I pick my cuticles.  It can be so satisfying when I’m nervous.  I love picking at my hangnails.  My left thumb is my mecca of cuticle picking.  It’s a bad habit and I don’t even need to guess what Dr. Oz would say.  It’s a habit that I must break. 

How do these pesky hangnails start?  According to “You Being Beautiful”  it’s technically a finger crack and it’s the result of low humidity that’s why they are especially bad in the winter.  Finger crack sounds so much more dramatic than hang nail.  I’m going to call in sick tomorrow…”Sorry, my Dr. (Oz) told me that I have to rest my hand – I have a finger crack”.  Believe me, people have called in with worse excuses.  I also just gave myself away – so guess it’s hi ho, hi ho, off to work  I go tomorrow.  I may keep that in my back pocket though for another time.  ACK – I just gave myself away again.

Let’s stick with the matter at hand (get it?  I know bad pun) – how do I get rid of those pesky hang nails?  According the the book, use a moisturizer to keep your hands from drying out.  I’ve been religious about it this year, and it has helped.  They also recommend a liquid bandage to seal the cracks.  I personally also sleep with Polysporin on my cuticles when I’ve gone to town on them and it really helps.  I know, I know – I have to let that habit go (poetic isn’t it).

Here are some other tips from “You Being Beautiful” that I need to follow to help protect my hands:

-Wear cotton lined gloves when cleaning – I never do – I hate the feeling, but maybe, I need to get over it.  I give – I’ll by a pair of rubber gloves for cleaning

-Trim finger nails and clean under the nails regularly – umm…yeah you think?

-Never pull off hangnails – it’s ripping living tissue and can cause severe infections…ok I get the message – I’ll be good

-Apply a moisturizer every time you was your hands – I’ve got this one covered

-Pick your nail salon wisely – and I do…I go to one of two very clean places.  If you can’t see them sterilizing the nail instruments, don’t go there!!!  I’m not loyal – I’ll go to anyone at either place, but the lady who does my mani/pedis told me to give my feet a break over the winter and not polish them.  I love dark nail polish on my feet and it’s really staining over time.  If I can listen to her and give up pedis over the winter, I can take Dr. Oz’s advice too!

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

