The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Face This

Leave a comment

I’ve already written about my skin frustrations.  If you share some of my grief, here the 6 steps according to “You Being Beautiful” to getting the perfect wash:

  1. Watch what your washing with – basically this means that you should use PH balanced soaps and cleansers.  I just checked mine – none of them say PH balanced, but I will compare them to the approved ingredient list and let you know where I stand.  Apparently, if they don’t sting your eyes, they are likely PH balanced.  If you use cleansers that aren’t PH balanced, according to the book, you are removing skin’s protective mantle that seals in moisture. They also recommend washing your face twice a day for several seconds so you don’t aggravate acne.  I’m just going to say this – if you aren’t washing your face twice a day – GROOOSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.  I wash my face in the shower in the morning, and then again before I go to bed.  If you are a woman and you are going to bed with your “face” on, stop right now, thank you very much…how did I start writing out Spice Girl lyrics?  Ok next! 
  2. Add Anti-Oxis – these are anti-oxidants like vitamins C and E that help protect your skin and fight free radicals.  Apparently you need to use something called L-ascorbic acid and it must be at least 10% to penetrate the skin. I’ll try to find this serum online and let you know the brand name and cost.  It’s to be used at night.  I wouldn’t use anything if you have sensitive skin unless you’ve spoken to a dermatologist.  The book also recommends the b vitamins (topical or oral) for good skin health.  Guess I have to make another trip to the drug store for a vitamin b supplement.
  3. Moisten before using – Basically, moisturize your skin.  They mean body and face.  For aging skin, they recommend derivatives of vitamin A (AKA retinoids).  Some require a prescription, some, like retinol, are found in common and high end brands at the drug store.  I currently don’t use a retinoid – but I’ll go invest.  I’ll research what works best for acne prone skin though and let you know what I find out.  For your body, the Doctors like natural moisturizers like avocado oil, walnut butter, cocoa butter – or ones that are hypoallergenic.  I use Lachydrin and some yummy smelling Bath and Body Works moisturizers.  Lachydrin is fine, but I guess I better go check out some other options for my arms and legs….
  4. Exfoliate often – I’m bad about this.  I have a spa quality exfoliator and use it about once a month.  They recommend  weekly.  They also recommend exfoliators with chemicals beads so that they don’t damage your skin like apricot seeds can. Alpha hydroxy acids also work – I’ve been using these on my arms and legs for years. 
  5. Wear sunscreen – I covered this already in a previous entry. 
  6. Have a pro save your face – basically get regular facials or microdermabrasion if you can afford to.  I’ve done microdermabrasion – and broke out from it.  If you have acne, it can be very stimulating, but regular facials do help to clear your pores.  I go once every 6 weeks or so. 

So there is everything you need to save your face – I do many of these things, but I’m going to review again as a refresher and let you know if there have been any changes to my skin.  These things often take time – so I’ll keep you posted.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

