The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

I’m Going Squirrely!

Leave a comment

As I wrote previously, I am complementing “You Being Beautiful” with Dr. Oz’s 30 Day Beauty Challenge, condensing it into 15 actual days by doubling up on the tips.  Tips for today?  Come on – guess!  Ok, I give – eat even more nuts.  This time it’s walnuts since eating them helps moisturize your skin from the inside out.  They are also a good source of Omega 3 fatty acids which help reduce inflammation in your body.  Good grief – that’s a lot of nuts.  Fear not though, they only recommend that you eat 14 halves (7 walnuts total).  I’ll pick them up on the weekend *SIGH*.  Just to get an idea of how I get my nuts in – here is a tally:

-2 brazil nuts at breakfast – yes exactly two

-12 almonds one hour before bed

-a very small handful of pumpkin seeds or pistachios in my salad

-I’ll add 7 walnuts to my Greek Yogurt when I buy them

The next tip comes as no surprise – drink 8 x 8 ounce glasses a day.  I know I find it hard to get water in, and I’ve already written about it, but it doesn’t hurt to remind everyone how important it is.  Apparently just being 2% dehydrated can have an impact on your skin.  I have at least 6 glasses a day, but will try to bump it up to 8.

Now for a recommendation on skin cleansers.  The good doctor and his sidekick in “You Being Beautiful” like Cetaphil and Neutrogena if you are using a liquid cleanser.  Spectro Gel if you use it, is pretty much like Cetaphil.  Everyone’s skin is different, so use what works for you.  I use Cetaphil/Spectro Gel in the morning and Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash at night since it has salicylic acid – which Dr. Oz recommends for acne prone skin.  Just a note for the ladies – take your make up off with a make up remover or cleansing cloth before you wash.  I love Simple Cleansing Cloths – they are fragrance free and really get all of my eye make up and foundation off without making my skin feely oily or like sand paper – they are the best! 

Now, I’m off – I have 4 glasses of water to get in before bedtime!

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

