The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

A True Gift

5 Comments

My first memory is of my Zaidy (Yiddish for grandfather).  I was in my crib, wearing my blue pajamas with feet, and there were people downstairs.  He came into the room, and told me to be very quiet, and he lifted me out of my crib and read me the “Snoopy Come Home Movie Book.”  I loved that book as a child and I really loved the man who read it to me. 

Zaidy died when I was four and a half, and I have only a few memories of him.  Most are a little embarassing, like when he had a box of my favourite fruity Chiclets in one hand and a Coffee Crisp bar in the other and was begging me to go potty as I sat mortified on the Donald Duck toilet seat that he bought me.  It had a squeaky Donald’s head – so fun – but still I was totally embarassed!  Anytime that I would visit him in Ottawa, when someone would walk into the house, he’d trot me out, and have me spell his last name for them – it was ten letters, and I was just over two when I learned it – pretty impressive.  He entertained me for hours clicking his false teeth in and out for me.  If he was in a business meeting at his house, I’d crawl in and climb on his lap and say “What you doing Zaidy?”  He always patiently answered and let me sit there as long as I liked.  If it was nap time (his – he worked very hard) and I decided to play my little plastic tambourine – well, that was way more important since I was a budding musician, at least in his eyes. 

I also remember how much my grandparents loved each other.  They always walked hand in hand, called each other Mommy and Daddy and always played gentle tricks on each other.  Truly, it was sweet.  My Zaidy seemed to be the tallest man in the world – at least to me.  He was actually 5’11 – we aren’t a tall family.  I was always a little afraid of him because he seemed so much bigger than me, but he was a gentle man.

Today is the 39th anniversary of his death.  I remember going to visit Ottawa not long after, and being too young to really understand that when someone dies, they don’t come back, I’d go running upstairs to see him.  Although he wasn’t there, I feel that he is always with me.  When I hear my mother, sisters or cousins speak about him, he comes alive through their words.  People always speak so reverently about him and it makes me so proud to be his granddaughter.  

My Zaidy escaped from Lithuania as a teenager and came to Canada without knowing the language.  He started as a fruit peddler and ended up owning a fruit wholesaler and then got into real estate.  He became successful not because he was given something, but because of hard work and determination.  He lived through wars in his native country, suffered in ways that I can’t imagine and was never bitter.  We can all learn a lesson from people like him.

“You Being Beautiful” has a chapter on improving upon your relationships including those with family members. There was no improving Zaidy or a relationship with him.  As anyone who was lucky enough to know him, he was quite simply, the best person created.  His name was Nathan – the meaning is “gift of God” – how appropriate since he was a gift.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

5 thoughts on “A True Gift

  1. What a beautiful post Jill! Grandparents are such an important part of our lives, and no matter how long we have them for, they make a big impact 🙂

    Like

  2. Such a beautiful tribute to my Father-I am most touched

    Like

  3. What a beautiful tribute to my Father! He would be so proud, as am I. I am deeply touched

    Love Mummy

    Sent from Windows Mail

    Like

  4. Pingback: Embracing Emotion | The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

Leave a Reply

