The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

30 And Holding

Leave a comment

Chapter 1 of “You Being Beautiful” starts with “Tale of the Tape” – a really quick test you can do to take your facial fingerprint – a nice way of saying how old your skin looks.  You basically run tape from the top of your forhead to between your eyes, across the apples of each cheek ending above your lip.  If your tape is smooth, you have skin of a 30 year old and I do!!! Yay me!!!  There was some flakiness above my lips – so my upper lip is typical for those in their 40s.  I’ll carry around a portable moustache to cover it.  If you have the skin of a typical 40 year old, you will have flakiness but no lines.  If you have the skin of a typical 50 year old, there will be some flaky cells and lines on the tape. 

I think everyone wants perfect skin.  I know it’s one of my dreams.  If your skin isn’t looking it’s best, it affects how you feel about yourself.  As I mentioned, I suffer from acne.  It’s also one of the worst winters on record, so even though my skin is breaking out, it’s also drier than a desert.  All of this combined, including a little fatigue, made yesterday the ugliest face day of the year for me.  I know, I’m supposed to do self-affirmation, but I was not cute yesterday, and I’m ok admitting it to you.

Great skin is partly the result of what you eat.  Loss of the “glow” is partly the result of build up of oil and dead skin.  Lovely!   I know that skin is there to keep all of your organs in and as a protective barrier – but we’d be really hideous without it.  Did anyone go to “Body Worlds”?  Hideous. 

So what can we do to get the glow?  I can’t cover it all in one entry, but your body is about 70% water so that’s a good place to start.  They say around 8 glasses or 2 litres a day is optimal.  Seriously – who can chug down that much?  There are always one or two that do it, smugly I might add, with their little tips like “put some lemon in” or “drink it at room temperatire”.  Ok smuglies, I know and I even know that water is the single best thing you can drink – it’s just hard to drink so much in a day.  I usually drink around 6 glasses.  I add lemon at restaurants – yes, that sort of makes me a “smugly” too.   Ok – I admit, I even drink my water at room temperature.  Dear God – I am an SIT – smugly in training!

I’ve also purchased zinc (with copper) and flax seeds from a health food store.  I felt even smugger after that – I was finally one of those people who speak to the Nutrition House owner like he’s my new bestie.  After he told me that zinc was great for peri-menopausal women, it took all my strength not to walk out haughtily exclaiming that I’m years away from menopause….but I didn’t know when I’d need his expertise again, so I just paid for my purchase.  I did refuse to enter his stupid little in-store contest – that probably taught him what to say or not to say to a lady.  I’m also sure that it didn’t keep him up last night.

I took the zinc today and had some flax seeds in my salad at lunch – they are like sesame seeds, only a bit firmer.  So no excuses, if the combination helps my acne – you can try it too fear free.  I just wish there was an overnight answer to these issues, but until then, I’ll just keep doing what Dr. Oz says.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

