The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

30 Days of Beauty…Actually, Make that Fifteen

Leave a comment

I found Dr. Oz’s 30 Days of Beauty on doctoroz.com and thought that it would be a nice complement to “You Being Beautiful”.  The first video that I found was about getting enough rest.  Well – been there, blogged about that…on to tip 2 – I have a feeling that I can double up on the tips so I’ll include some of these suggestions every few days.

To get better skin, it is recommended that you get enough zinc.  Women need 8 milligrams per day and of course they recommend that you get it from food.  Sadly for me, a lot of the foods will not pass my lips, but just to give you some idea, here are a few things that you can add to your diet:

  • Oysters – sorry for you slimey seafood lovers – but to me, it just tastes like something that fell out of an ox’s nose – but enjoy it on the half shell
  • Kidney Beans – while I admit they don’t taste bad, they really do look like kidneys – but I’ve covered my feelings about this already
  • Beef – great!  But I don’t chow on cow
  • Baked Beans – my mother used to give me these with hot dogs – I hated it then and it’s not happening now.  I called it punishment food and along with beef stew it was one of my least favourite things.  I know that some people like to eat them on toast – I’m not one of them
  • Chicken dark and white meat although dark is a much better source.  I love white meat – dark tastes to porky for this NJG – nice Jewish girl
  • Almonds – got these covered
  • Cashews – I like them, but seriously, how many more nuts can I eat?
  • Oatmeal – I like it, but can’t eat it every day….which reminds me, I still have to eat the Scottish Oatmeal to see if it helps with sleep
  • Frozen Peas –  I like them, but not every day

While I’m out getting flax seed powder tomorrow, I’m going to try to find some low dose zinc – maybe this will be the combination to finally help me get my acne under control.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

