The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Love the Chin You Are In…and 47 Weeks To Go!

Leave a comment

I was one of those annoying teenagers who cruised through high school with only the very occasional pimple.  I made it through my twenties with hardly a blemish.  My thirties rolled around and all of a sudden, my skin rebelled.  I’m not sure why, but for the longest time it’s been  just a chin issue.  Getting acne in this area is hormonal and sure enough, when it’s about to be that time of the month (you know ladies, when Mother Nature is giving you your monthly gift – the one you’d like to return) out pops a little something special.  I go through times when it gets better, and times when it takes all of my guts to leave the house.  Just this winter, I’ve been enjoying (insert sarcastic voice here) some breakouts on my forehead and one or two near my nose.  It’s frustrating because no matter what I do, they just don’t go away.  I go to an acne clinic where I get my faced rubbed with dry ice and searingly painful cortisone injections, I take antibiotics, use prescription skin cream, nothing scented touches my face, I get regular facials and nothing seems to work for any great length of time. 

I decided to see what Dr. Oz and his “You Being Beautiful” sidekick, Dr. Roizen recommend.  According to them, 40% of US adults suffer from acne.  Even though misery loves company, that doesn’t make me feel better about my skin problems.  Apparently, in Papua, New Guinea the number is close to 0.  Rather than move so far away, I decided to take a look at some of the “Whiz-ard’s” suggestions.  Apparently a lack of omega 3 fatty acids may be the culprit.  Some good sources are walnuts, avacados, ground flaxseed, canola and fish oils.  I used to eat more walnuts, but between all of the nuts that I have been having, I think I need to have some more variety so flaxseed it is!  I’ll pick up some over the weekend and try it.  I have a feeling, that like everything, it will take several weeks to make a difference so I’ll keep you posted. 

Since I’m affected by acne, you will be hearing much more about this.  It has made me more sensitive to others – when I see a teenager with terrible cystic acne, it breaks my heart because you know that in addition to dealing with this painful skin condition, they are probably bullied by their peers.  Heartbreaking – truly!

This is the end of another week in my year of living Oz-ily.  I haven’t spent any money this week on Oz related merchandise.  I can’t even really count You Being Beautiful – I bought it about four years ago.  It was $9.99 at the time so if you are interested in it, it’s likely on a sale table near you.  The perfect night sleep is still eluding me but I’m keeping up with most of what I learned last month.  I still have to try meditation though.  When I finally get to it, I’ll write about it.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

