The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

The Folding Face

Leave a comment

I know – a weird title, but before you judge, I’ve been reading “You Being Beautiful” and true beauty, according to this epic piece of non-fiction, is all about symmetry.  I urge you to try to fold your face over and see how you do!  Seriously, the first portion of the book was very interesting, but very scientific – no hints on how not to get your pretty on.  There were even some mathematical equations that were just a bit too far over my little blond head. 

The next portion was interesting – it was your own measurement of your inner and outer beauty.  You judged yourself on looking beautiful (what the world sees), feeling beautiful (literally how you feel), being beautiful (measuring your happiness) and understanding yourself.  I got a 67…not bad huh?  Until you find out the score is based out of 160!  Before I beat myself up over my lack of self confidence, a lot of the score was based on whether a list of words that describe the current you also describe the potential you.  I only received a 6 out of 30 there because you are measured on how many of the words overlap.  Sorry – I aimed high and changed most of the words that I thought would desribe myself in the future.  Big mistake but at least I was honest.   My score was also low in the feeling beautiful which measures how much pain you are in and how much energy you have.  I have work to do in both areas. 

All in all, an interesting self analysis.  It is also the basis for this book and how you interact with it.  I’m 50 pages into this 400 page handbook.  There are a lot of helpful hints, but I’ll have to muddle through the suggestions and find ones specific to my needs because it touches upon a little bit of everything for everyone. 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

