The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

BBBB-bad to the Bone

2 Comments

Bunions – kind of sounds like something you serve with liver or a special onion bun, but it’s really a very painful foot condition.  I don’t have bunions, but a very close friend of mine – we’ll call her Babs asked me to write a blog about it.  I figure many women are affected, and I may have them one day myself, so why not learn what I can do to avoid them?

A bunion is an abnormal, bony bump that forms on the joint at the base of your big toe.  We’ve all seen gorgeous stars wearing beautiful shoes and if you look really closely, you can see the distinct bump of the bunion.  They are painful and can make it very difficult to find a nice pair of shoes.  According to Dr. Oz, they are caused by three things – heredity, arthritis and most commonly by ill-fitting shoes. 

Obviously prevention is the best cure, but if it’s too late, there are things that you can do:

-Wear shoes with a more generous toe-box – square shaped is best.  Babs – I believe that you have this down already so you have half the battle won

-Order yoga toes which will help relax your toes.  You can also wear a bunion cushion to help alleviate some of the pain.  Last, but not least, wearing a bunion splint may help move the toe back into position

-Pain relievers such as aspirin or ibuprofen can help with pain management

-Go to a podiatrist for a cortisone shot.  Dr. Oz mentions buying a topical cortisone cream may also help.  Going to a podiatrist is likely a good idea anyway, since they may have other ideas on what may help

Here is the link to find out more – http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/shoes-helpful-or-harmful

I hope this helps you Babs.  This is a friend that I have known since I was two years old.  She’s sort of like the extra older sister that I was lucky to have.  I was chauffered to high school in a big green boat of a car that she drove as she blasted “I’m Your Man” and “How Will I Know” – sorry to date both of us.  She moved me into and out of residence at university numerous times and checked on me at Yorkdale where we both worked.  She introduced me to my current hair dresser – something that I’ll be forever grateful for!  She has amazing girls that I love as well.  Make sure that they know to wear comfortable shoes so they don’t have to go through an attack of the bunions.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “BBBB-bad to the Bone

  1. Thank you so much Jill! Bunions r painful so please wear comfortable shoes that actually fit! The yoga toes, bunion cushions and cortisone cream will be my next purchases. I have the splint already so I will try using it tonite while I sleep.
    Thank you for writing this and I look forward to your future blogs!
    One more thing- I’d like to point out to your followers that not only is Jill beautiful, smart and creative but Jill is the most amazing person inside and out that is ThERE for her friends and family in a heartbeat!! Trust me I know!!
    And- did you really forget the Honda Accord?

    Like

    • My pleasure – I hope it helps! My friend also said Sketchers makes shoes that are good for bunion sufferers. Thank you for your very sweet comments. No – I didn’t forget the Accord, but I always had a soft spot for the New Yorker : )

      Like

Leave a Reply

