The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

New Month – New Topic

Leave a comment

Image

According to Dr. Oz and his partner in “You-ness”, Michael F. Roizen, beauty isn’t “some random act” – it’s something that is all about “your health and happiness”.  I’m going to be reading “You Being Beautiful” this month and it treats beauty from three different levels:

-Looking beautiful – “…how your appearance influences your self-esteem and has major health implications”

-Feeling beautiful – “…how to improve your energy levels, beat back life-altering aches and pains and come to grips with some of life’s toughest stresses”

-Being beautiful – finding happiness by improving relationships with your loved ones and others

I selected this book, because everyone wants to feel their most beautiful.  What I liked about the approach that this book takes is “…it’s not so much about your vanity as it is your humanity”.   Who can say what true beauty is?  One thing that I’ve learned over time that the most beautiful person on the outside doesn’t look half as good if you find out that that their inner beauty is sorely lacking.  By the same token, if a person is not as attractive, but they are kind and have a great personality, you start noticing things about them that are beautiful. 

I was in a beauty pagent once – Debating Club Princess in the Winter Carnival Queen pagent at my high school.  Says it all doesn’t it – Debating Club Princess.  So, although I’m not a hobbit, I’m always going to feel a little average.  As you get older and more comfortable with yourself, at least for me, I am less self-conscious about my appearance.  I can focus on the good – and everyone has something about them that is lovely.  For me, it’s my teeth – they are straight and white and even.  I preen over my pearly whites.  I brush no less than twice a day, floss daily and use a tongue scraper.  I religiously see the dentist twice a year. I even like going – it’s a total ego boost.  I remember the first time I went to him, he went on an on about how straight my teeth are and everytime I go there, they talk about what an easy patient I am and how I take such good care of my teeth.  Makes me feel like a million bucks. 

Join me this month as I learn more about what makes someone beautiful on the inside and out.  In addition to his book, I will also consult his website and his brand new magazine to see what tips there may be.

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

