The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

48 Weeks To Go

Leave a comment

Week four is now over – and so is almost a month of trying to be the ultimate sleeper.  My tally for the week was another $3.99 for kiwis and for the month of January, it was $39.43.  Much less than I thought it would be, but I also looked for sleep suggestions that didn’t include herbal supplements which really kept my costs in check.

Even though the first month is basically over, I will continue to incorporate the best tips into my daily sleeping life.  I’ve written about what’s helped – not checking the clock, keeping my room cooler and quiet, keeping a bedtime routine and nuts, becoming nuts about nuts.  I’ve also started monitoring my walking – I’m not 100% at the 10,000 steps – usually somewhere in the 8,500-9,000, but if it would warm up, I can easily get there.  I’ve got my selenium and magnesium intake covered through the foods I eat – great!  I have a clearer understanding of what dreams mean and how I can use them.  I do forget to stay in sleep position to remember them.  Speaking of sleep position – I still wind up in a face plant – but I’ll keep trying to be mindful.  I’m also better at cutting off caffeine at a more reasonable hour.

I still need to try meditation – I’ve watched the video which is a first step.  I also have to turn my lights out by 11:15 – not as easy as I thought – I’m usually closer to being lights out by 11:45.  I haven’t started a worry journal, but this is because I haven’t need to.  Since I began this process, I have had an easier time falling asleep and even though I wake up 1-2 times per night, I can fall back into la-la land quickly.  I haven’t reached the 7 hour nirvana – but I have had a better quality sleep than I have had in a long time.  Even though it is time to move onto a new topic, I’m  thankful for all of the tips and will keep using them.

Tomorrow will be a very special entry – it’s about the one test every woman over 40 should have.  February 1 will be a brand new month with a brand new topic. 

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

