The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Hakuna Matata

Leave a comment

…Yes from “The Lion King” – meaning no worries.  It’s what I aspire to.  I worry about everything!  My mind is always going because between creating world peace (in my mind), saving the whales and dolphins (at least I sign petitions to do this – thank you Causes for making it easy), rescuing dogs (well again, in my mind, but it’s important), and oh yeah dealing with work, family and friends, I can’t turn things off.  If you read my blog about dreams, you know that I dream about forgetting things all of the time.  I guess that’s a big worry – that something will fall through the cracks.  I’ve spent the last several weeks changing minor things to help me sleep like eating every type of nut imaginable, turning my clock away and keeping my room cool, but now, I think it’s time to go after the big guns – the real thing that keeps me up at night – worry.

In this article, which is interesting, give it a read, http://blog.doctoroz.com/oz-experts/how-to-worry-less-and-sleep-more Dr. Oz’s resident sleep expert, Michael J. Breus, suggests keeping a worry journal.  Thank goodness – I’ll finally have some use for all of those notebooks that my family and friends always buy me.  Just a clue everyone – I have more than enough notebooks – tens of them in fact – very generous thank you, but even if you see an adorable Kate Spade notebook or a truly elegant journal made out of rich, corinthian leather (insert Ricardo Montalban’s voice here – if you are too young to know who he is, check out this link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_HMIN0nGl0) – please leave it at the store – I am fully stocked, in fact, I have enough to last me until the day that I depart this earth.  I’ll miss you all….but don’t worry – it’s many years away at least according to deathwatch.com.  See my mind is always racing and before I get completely off track – back to the worry journal…

 It is exactly what it sounds like – a place to focus all things during the day that are causing  anxiety and stress. The idea, according to the sleep expert is  “…to take your worries from your mind to the written page, helping you to relax.”

I’m going to pull a Shia Labeouf and take the steps right out of the article – oh right, I’m actually giving Dr. Breus the credit – never mind the pop culture reference.  Here is what you do:

  • Select a notebook or notepad – You can buy one, but admit it, you have a few tucked away somewhere
  • On a blank page, draw a line down the center, creating 2 columns. Do this on three pages.
  • At the top of the first page, write: I need to remember to take care of…
  • At the top of the second page, write: I can’t forget to…I think this is almost the same as the above bullet point, so I’m going to omit this
  • At the top of the third page, write: I am so worried about…
  • In the left column of each page, finish the sentence at the top, writing down everything that occurs to you.
  • In the right column, address the concern, worry, or task, by scheduling a time to think about it or deal with it.  Smart – by making yourself accountable, you will worry less.

I’m going to state the obvious, that everyone’s worries are different and their own business.  I’m only going to keep this journal if I am having a problem sleeping on that particular night, but I will be getting the pages of my worry journal ready.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

