The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

You Snooze You Lose?

Leave a comment

I get it…sleep is important.  I have to stop thinking of sleep as being lazy and start thinking of it as healing my body.  The Type A (I think I’m more of a B+, but people disagree) in me has to realize that work is still going on while I am at rest.  My body is using the time to repair itself…at least that will be my mantra.

My “Whiz-ard” issued the Ultimate Sleep challenge in an article on his website http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/dr-ozs-ultimate-sleep-challenge – check it out in case you want to try it out too!  Here is a quick snap-shot of his recommendations:

  • Quit smoking – I’ll get on that right away!!! Oh right, I don’t smoke – never mind.  If you do – quit – it can disturb your sleep and oh yeah cause cancer and heart disease
  • Go on sleep surveillance – interesting.  I don’t drink coffee after 4pm but I do drink tea *blush*, I don’t have more than one alcoholic beverage in a day *phew*, I do work out, but not as much as I should, I do eat dinner after 8pm which he does not recommend *blush again*, I don’t get up and go to bed at the same time on the weekends, but Sunday-Thursday I try to
  • He recommends keeping a sleep diary.  I’m going to forgo this and try the worry journal that I will tell you about in a future post
  • He suggests committing to a meditative practice – I’m going to try this on the weekend and post about this as well.  I think meditating will difficult for me, but I committed to doing what Dr. Oz told me and if he says meditate, I’m going to give it a try
  • Take 10,000 steps a day.  I used to do this every day until plantar fasciitis kicked in.  I’m charging my Nike Fuel Band now and will do this again, even if it means wearing that ugly Strassburg Sock (AKA passion killer) forever
  • Set a sleep schedule.  This is actually a very smart idea.  Basically, it’s no caffeine 4-6 hours before bed, no heavy meals 2-3 hours before bed, turning off all electronics 60 minutes before bed, having water 30 minutes before bed, make sure your room is sleep friendly 5 minutes before you go to sleep and wake up and go to sleep at the same time every day.  I’ll try these – but, as I mentioned, weekends tend to be tougher.  I did as the sleep expert on Dr. Oz recommended and only stayed in bed for one extra hour on the weekend so I’m getting there!
  • Keep paper beside your bed and write things down as you think of them (this is basically a worry journal).  I’ve never done this and it seems like a great idea
  • Ban the snooze button – ok I’m guilty – I use this every day.  He has a point – just set your alarm for the time you should be up, there is no benefit to snoozing.  Point to be taken
  • He suggested some energy boosters, but right now I’m more interested in the sleep tips – there is already a lot to remember

….now where did I put that notebook – I need to write a list of things to do so that I can sleep…

I’ll keep you posted on what worked and what didn’t.

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

