The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Sweet Dreams Are Made of This – Part Deux

2 Comments

…sort of like Hot Shots Part Deux when Charlie Sheen wasn’t a complete weirdo or am I dating myself?  I never even saw the movie…

Oh well, back to the topic at hand – dreams! 

Your dreams are prime real estate for helping you get inspired since they tap into your subconscious mind.  According to the episode that I referred to in Part Une (that’s one for all you French novices) the subconscious = 88% of your mind’s power and tapping into that will allow you to do the thing that’s inspiring you.  In the case of the episode of Dr. Oz, it was a woman who wanted to eat better and exercise.  Since that’s what most of my March blog will be about, I want to use my dreams to better understand what I am trying to personally process in my non-waking hours.

I know that a lot of my recurring dreams are about me forgetting something.  The most common, and I know other people share this one, is I’ve forgotten to go to school to prepare for a final exam, in fact, I’ve skipped every single class.  I looked this up online and found the following translation which seemed to best fit:

  • The dream often occurs in approximation with having forgotten or being concerned about forgetting to do something important in waking life
  • The dream may reflect a sense of responsibility, duty, or choice where the dreamer knows what he/she should do, but is hesitant/reluctant to do the act
  • A change involving the end of something is imminent and there is low confidence about the future
  • It is a time when regrets of past actions or inactions have been in mind—a possible prompt to not “put off until tomorrow what can be done today”
  • The dream, when it comes in approximation with a significant date, such as a birthday, anniversary, school reunion year, date of the death of someone significant, offers the doorway to the classroom as a metaphor to paths not taken, the recognition that a “long” time has passed without goals achieved
  • The dream is a reminder not to miss an opportunity or take a more active role in one’s destiny

Published on September 7, 2009 by Dr. Judy Willis, M.D., M.Ed. in Radical Teaching

All of this is very possible in my case because I’m always worried about missing things or forgetting to live life to the fullest. 

Another recurring dream that I have is having a loose tooth or losing teeth – very strange since if you know me, you know that dental hygiene is my life, well maybe not my life, but I am pretty serious about it.  According to http://www.teethfallingoutdream.org/loose-teeth-dream/ it generally means the following:

“Loose teeth in dreams signify that you are facing a difficult decision or transition time in your life. Common dream scenarios involve discovering that a few teeth have come loose; you may feel that a tooth is not stable and you’re worried is will come loose. These dream images point to concerns about the stability of your foundations in life and the prospect of letting go of something important to you.”

 Obviously, I spend a lot of my subconscious time worrying about things that are beyond my control.  I looked up some other recurring dreams that I had and they relate back to self-confidence issues.  I do believe, that this will be a year of positive change for me – not sure exactly how, but maybe learning that the not knowing part is what makes life exciting is something that I need to work on.
 
Last, but not least, did you know that you can change or eliminate nightmares according to Dr. Oz and his sleep experts?  Luckily, I may have other dream issues, but I rarely have nightmares (maybe one every couple of months).  They say that you can re-write the endings to make them more positive – i.e. a group of people is chasing you.  You re-write the ending to have it be a group of friends rather than malevolent strangers.  I’ve found that just waking up and saying to myself that it wasn’t real, thinking about happier things and saying to myself that I won’t be going back into the nasty dream helps. 
 
I completely FORGOT to stay in my sleeping position and try to remember my dream this morning.  Luckily, I remembered what it was and it was about forgetting to wear shoes and pack for a trip – nice to know that my theme of forgetting things is carrying on. 
 
Tonight I will be writing a special blog – it will be the first in a series of “dedications”.  I was asked by a very dear friend to write about a specific topic – getting rid of colds/dry hacking coughs.  ‘Tis the season for colds, so let’s see what the good Dr. Oz has to say.
Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Dreams Are Made of This – Part Deux

  1. I can’t find my b-day gift? Is it up yet?

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. The best gift from the best BFF 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

