The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Sweet Dreams Are Made of This…Part 1

Leave a comment

Dr. Oz has some very interesting information about dreams on his site including this show http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/5-ways-use-dreams-better-your-health-pt-1.  Dreams are an important part of sleep and since this is the main topic of the month, I have to dedicate some time talking about them.  I’ve always been a heavy dreamer and can remember some of them, but, like most people, I rarely think of the meaning behind my dreams.  According to this episode of the Dr. Oz show, there are ways that you can use your dreams to get better health.

As I mentioned, like most people, I don’t pay attention to the tones and themes of my dreams.  According the the expert in this episode, dreams help you process all of the data that is thrown at us throughout the day.  We live in a world where information has become immediate so this makes sense.  Just think of the number of emails, personal and professional, alone that we answer as part of our day.  Never mind meetings, strange transit occurences (ok that’s just me – whenever I’m on the subway I always see something strange), phone calls, text messages, being there for your friends and family (unless you are a total loner), and other commitments that we have to keep.  Just typing this is causing me stress.  It’s no wonder that we need an outlet to process all of this and dreams are this outlet. 

The dream expert indicates that positive dreams reduce cortisol levels and makes us feel better, even if we don’t remember them.  I often have trouble remembering my good dreams, but almost always remember the nightmares.  Here are the tips to remembering your dreams, both good and bad:

  • Don’t move a muscle when you wake up
  • Don’t think about what you have to do throughout the day
  • Remain in your sleep position and replay the dream three times – you only have a five minute window to do this before the dream is gone

I tried this experiment when I woke up today and it worked!  Luckily, I was wearing the Strassburg Sock (the hot bedtime footwear that I get to rock to help with my plantar fasciitis) so I couldn’t really move that much.  I can’t really say I understood what I was dreaming about, but at least I can remember it. 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

