The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

50 Weeks To Go!

3 Comments

Week two of my one year experiment is now over – just 50 weeks to go.  My tally for the week was a whopping $22.46 – $7.99 on almonds, $5.99 on pumpkin seeds, $4.99 on Scottish Oatmeal (which I have yet to try) and $3.49 for organic apple sauce.  I was desperate for pumpkin seed powder and went to Whole Foods.  Let me get real – I don’t shop at Whole Foods – and not because I’m not as pretentious as the next person – I am, and I have the purses to prove it.  I’m just not someone who believes in buying organic *horrors*.  I’ve seen more documentaries on how organic food can’t be properly certified and how it is grown in the same groves as my pesticide laden preferences.  Before you get on your reclaimed wood soap box and lecture me, please know that I’d rather eat chemicals than a bug.  I know – bad on me, Dr. Oz would lecture me and perhaps as part of my experiment, if I have to satisfy the blog, I’ll buy organic.  I just won’t like it…at all.  Whole Foods, with it’s grind your own almond butter, gluten-free stone grizzled bread and fair trade chocolate stresses me out.  Here is a link the funniest thing I’ve ever read about this oasis in urban life http://www.huffingtonpost.com/kelly-maclean/surviving-whole-foods_b_3895583.html  Even the cashiers who pretended to look down at me for my meager purchases were secretly dreaming of the end of their shift when they could go, incognito of course, to No Frills to buy the Pizza Pockets that were on sale.

On another note, I tried to make pumpkin seed powder out of my pumpkin seeds.  I put them in a baggie and hit them with the handle of a bread knife.  It didn’t work.  I got the hammer out and started pounding on them – that didn’t work either but I converted several seeds into flecks.  I then tried closing a drawer on them several times  – still no luck so I’m just going to eat them as is and hope for the best.

Now that I’ve finished my Whole Food rant, here is what I’ve learned in week two – stop sweating the sleep thing.  It’s actually keeping me up at night.  I tried not to glance at my clock last night when I woke up, but I did three times (see yesterday’s entry).  To truly commit to something means doing things that you may not like or that may cause  short term anxiety (like not knowing what time it is), but if a sleep expert says it’s not a good thing to do, maybe, just maybe, he has a point and I have to put my faith in what he is saying.  Over the next week, I’m going to scour Dr. Oz’s site and articles for non-food related ways to get a good night’s sleep and take the advice that I pledged to take when I started this project.

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

3 thoughts on “50 Weeks To Go!

  1. try grinding them in a food processor

    Like

  2. Pingback: Decluttering, Whole Foods Redux and Hooray for Mindy! | The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

Leave a Reply

