The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Sometimes You Feel Like A Nut…Sometimes You Don’t

Leave a comment

I’ve been eating, buying or thinking about nuts so much as part of the solution to my sleep issues that I’m starting to think in nut puns.  This sleep thing is a tough nut to crack…I’ve been pecan at Dr. Oz’s advice…here is the sleeping solution, in a nutshell…..please stop me.

I decided to stop driving myself nuts (sorry – couldn’t resist) and start looking at some of his other advice.  Here are some tips from this episode http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/are-you-desperate-good-night-s-sleep-pt-3

-Keep in mind quality sleep is important not just quantity (I’ll tell myself that when I am stressing about not sleeping)

-Although reading before you go to bed isn’t necessarily a bad thing, keep the lights dim and read fiction (but nothing scary).  This was really interesting to me, because I always read before bed.  The sleep expert says not to read self-help books because thinking about them may keep you up….does this mean I have to bust out my “Healing Feelings From My Heart” in public (kidding)?  It is true – if I’m reading a compelling book and yes, occasionally I need a little Dr. Phil to remind me to get excited about my life, I do end up thinking about what I’ve read.  Fiction it is – once I’ve finished my Laura Bush autobiography – and please no judgments – she’s had an interesting life

-Not only should you turn your alarm clock away from you, you should not even check it at all.  It will cause you stress and anxiety about how much sleep time you have left.  As the expert says – all you need to think about is your dreams.  I’m a time stresser so I’m going to try this for sure

-One of the toughest challenges is the lighting in your washroom as you get ready for bed.  Most bathrooms are brightly lit and this fools your brain into thinking it’s daytime.  There isn’t a lot you can do unless you install a light dimmer or use a make up mirror.  I’m going to try to wash my face and brush my teeth two hours before bedtime to see if this makes any difference

-Last, but not least, and I knew this was coming – wake up at the same time every day, even on the weekends so that you don’t end up with Sunday night insomnia.  I often end up with this issue even at times when I am sleeping well.  The sleep expert says not to spend more than one extra hour in bed on Saturdays or Sundays so I’m going to try to be out of bed at 7:45am those days – wish me luck…

…now I’m off to have my ground pumpkin seeds and apple sauce.

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

