The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

You Make Me Sleep Like A Natural Woman

Leave a comment

Although I have had a lot of problems sleeping, I  rarely rely on medicated sleep aids.  In desperation, earlier this year, when I was going through a stressful time and not sleeping, I broke down and bought a bottle of Nytol.  I took a pill, and not only did I still not sleep, I felt groggy the next morning.  It was a waste of time and a waste of money.

According to this episode of Dr. Oz http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gW5MCUZW1F0 reliance on sleep aids can increase your risk of cancer and increases your odds for an early death three-fold.  Let’s face it, our odds of dying are 100%, but who wants to be greeted by the Grim Reaper earlier than they have to?

Over the last 3-4 days, I have been sleeping better but am still nowhere near the 7 hour goal.  I find that Friday night/Saturday morning that I do get the magic number, but I can’t really count that, because I feel like it’s making up for sleep loss for the entire week.  I did sleep better Thursday night and got almost 6 hours so it’s getting there.  By watching a portion of a Dr. Oz Show, I found out that there were more foods that can help people get a good night of sleep naturally:

-Pumpkin Seed Powder (eat with apple sauce) – it contains tryptophan – the same amino acid found in turkey that makes you so sleepy after Thanksgiving dinner

-Tart Cherry Juice – very high in melatonin which helps you regulate your sleep cycle

-Pulque – this is an alcoholic beverage that comes from the agave plant.  Check out Dr. Oz’s reaction in the link when he tries it – I think it says it all

Scottish Oatmeal (not steel cut) – it contains tryptophan and melatonin and is supposed to help your nervous system relax.  Adults are supposed to have 1/2 a cup before bedtime and it is the expert’s favourite choice

-Dandelion Greens – they are supposed to help with liver function helping to regulate your hormones

I’m going to try the Scottish Oatmeal or Pumpkin Seed Powder.  I can be allergic to some types of cherries, and juice is very high in sugar.  I don’t want to have alcohol every day and Dr. Oz’s reaction to the Pulque didn’t look promising and I am supposed to take his advice.  Plus, I’d have to eat the dandelion greens every day to de-toxify my liver.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

