The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Why Dr. Oz?

2 Comments

Committing to something for an entire year and writing about it intrigued me…so I pondered, as much as I can ponder about what I could do to join this not-so-exclusive club.  “The Year of Living Biblically” – already done and burlap just isn’t my colour.  “Living Oprah” – been there, someone has written about that and as much as I love Oprah, she is already a living legend and doesn’t need even more written about her.  “The Happiness Project” – well I’m already pretty happy most of the time and that book made me MISERABLE. 

As I was flipping through “O Magazine” (even I need Oprah to inspire me every now and again), I came across Dr. Phil’s monthly column.  I love the guy, but some of his advice doesn’t apply to me.  I’m not a teen Mom, a drug addict ruining everyone’s life around me or a parent abuser (at least that’s what my Mom says).  Then…I saw it…the yellow brick road that would lead me on my journey…Dr. Oz!  What could be healthier than devoting an entire year to this “Whiz-Ardly” doctor’s advice?*

So starting today, I’ll be doing just that.  I’ll be using all of the tools at my disposal – a combination of his show, his monthly features in “O”, “You an Owner’s Manual” and his website to take me down the road to good health – I hope.  I’ll be picking and choosing what resonates with me, and hopefully interests you. 

*Dr. Oz in no way endorses this blog and I, in no way, want you to test anything that I am doing without consulting a health care professional.

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “Why Dr. Oz?

  1. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts Jill! Happy Oz year to you!

    Like

  2. Way to go Jill! Can’t wait to read all of your posts throughout your year 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

