The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

Following Dr. Oz's Advice For A Year

Day 7: End of Week One

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of chopracentermeditation.com

One week down – two more to go.  Today was my abosolute worst meditation.  I couldn’t get into it and in fact I even gave up and fast forwarded to Deepak’s ending thoughts.  I even found the mantra hard to remember – stick to 1 syllable people!  I just wasn’t feeling it.  In the words of the man himself (DC), this meditation topic was too abstract for a logical Leo like me.  Oprah really didn’t set the stage for me this time, but I forgive her, because in general, she is wonderful. 

Deepak talked about how we are all pure light both internally and as an expression of who we are.  We can tap into that energy, that awareness to feel… VVVOOOMMM – that’s the sound of the idea going over my head.  He even admits that the entire concept may feel out of reach and abstract (um…you think?).  He then likens it to being at one with nature.  This city girl will have to liken it to being at one with skyscrapers and shopping malls, but I’ll throw an avenue and boulevard in to make myself feel more worldly.  I could go on and on but I won’t.  It was too much for me.  It was the only meditation this week that I felt bordered on hooey. 

He did end on a great note telling the meditators to look for things that you love as inspiration whether it’s a quote, a poem or just a thought that inspires you.  He then reminds you that if you expand your awareness it’s as close as we’ll get to heaven on earth.  He inspires me so I’ll forgive him for a bit of a lackluster day.  If anyone else is doing the 21 day meditation experience, I’d love to hear your thoughts.  I know that I found helpful advice and wisdom in 6 out of 7 meditations so that’s a pretty good average.  I hope to concentrate on the relaxation benefits of meditation that Dr. Oz finds so useful.  I’ll be honest, I’m not feeling any difference just yet, but I still have 2 weeks to get the hang of my flow (I know that sounds vaguely menstrual, but it’s really not meant to).  

I’ll end, as always, on a note of gratitude.  I am grateful, for the process that I am going through even if it doesn’t seem to be working for me today.  It’s a growth experience. 

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my one year project of taking a doctor's advice, that is Dr. Oz. As much as I wish he was reading this blog and giving me his personal recommendations, he in no way endorses this experiment and I hope that you rely on sound medical advice for any issues, that you may have and not the ramblings of a would-be writer. I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow. Some health scares in my family made me realize that you only have one chance to get this health thing right, that's part of the reason for this little experiment. Every month, I'll pick a topic or two, that appeal to me and use Dr. Oz's advice to see if it makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 640 other followers